23 min read ·
What Ohio Families May Pay for Cremation—and How to Compare the Real Total
About $1,000–$3,000 is a cautious planning range for direct cremation. Mileage, death certificates, handling and delivery can raise the final bill.

Last reviewed August 20, 2026
Direct cremation without a viewing or funeral ceremony is generally the least expensive arrangement. Body preparation, visitation, facility use, ceremonies, vehicles, merchandise, delivery, or cemetery placement can increase the bill substantially.
For initial planning, about $1,000 to $3,000 is a cautious working range for direct cremation in Ohio. This is not a guaranteed statewide range: individual advertised and reported prices extend below and above it. The estimate comes from an Ohio provider article published July 7, 2026, but the article does not disclose a statewide survey methodology, so the range is better used for preliminary budgeting than as a definitive market average (Simplicity Cremation Ohio’s cost overview).
This guide distinguishes commercial statewide estimates from provider price lists, regional survey results, and historical examples. Because packages are not standardized, no advertised or average price should be treated as an out-the-door total without a dated, itemized estimate.
Ohio cremation costs at a glance
Two commercial publications put Ohio direct cremation near $2,050. A third-party article updated March 9, 2026 reports a range of $575 to $4,375 and an average of $2,057. It attributes the figures to Funeralocity but does not provide enough information about the sample, weighting, package normalization, or treatment of unavoidable fees to establish a definitive statewide average (Choice Mutual’s 2026 state breakdown).
A separate commercial article dated July 30, 2026 lists an Ohio direct-cremation average of $2,045 but does not identify its underlying Ohio sample or calculation method (After’s 2026 state pricing article).
Taken together, these figures make approximately $2,050 a qualified planning benchmark, not a prediction of what a particular family will pay. The broader $1,000-to-$3,000 planning range and a local itemized quote are more useful for budgeting.
| Service level | Broad price indication | Source date and geography | General meaning | Important limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Direct cremation | About $1,000–$3,000 for cautious planning | Ohio provider estimate; July 7, 2026 | Cremation without a prior public viewing or formal funeral ceremony | No disclosed statewide survey method; reported and advertised prices extend lower and higher |
| Cremation with a memorial | About $2,000–$4,000 | Commercial Ohio guide; 2026 | Cremation plus a gathering, generally without the body present | Package definitions, facilities, staffing, and merchandise vary |
| Cremation with a memorial or visitation | $4,000 or more | Ohio provider estimate; July 7, 2026 | Cremation plus funeral-home ceremony or visitation services | Provider estimate without disclosed statewide sampling |
| Cremation with viewing | No dependable statewide range established here | Ohio service category; 2026 planning context | Viewing or visitation before cremation, potentially with body preparation and a rental or cremation casket | Providers do not use standardized package definitions |
| Full-service cremation | Roughly $5,000–$8,000 or more | Commercial Ohio guide; 2026 | Funeral-home services resembling a traditional funeral, followed by cremation | Broad commercial estimate without transparent statewide sampling |
The $2,000-to-$4,000 memorial estimate and $5,000-to-$8,000-or-more full-service estimate come from a commercial Ohio guide that says its city averages draw on online General Price Lists and a state pricing matrix. It does not disclose sample sizes, individual collection dates, or weighting, so the figures are most useful for understanding service tiers rather than predicting a final bill (2026 Ohio cremation price guide).
The central budgeting lesson is simple: a low starting price is not necessarily the amount due at the end. A promoted rate may assume a qualifying removal location, service area, container, payment method, timing, or level of body care. It may exclude certificates, mileage, delivery, merchandise, or outside expenses.
Before relying on an advertised figure, identify three separate numbers:
- The advertised starting price
- The normalized package price covering the core services your circumstances require
- The final estimated total after applicable additions and third-party expenses
Why the type of cremation service changes the price
Direct cremation generally means the deceased is cremated without a prior public viewing or formal funeral ceremony. Because it minimizes ceremonial staffing, body preparation, facility time, vehicles, and merchandise, it is generally the least expensive service level.
Direct cremation does not prevent the family from holding a memorial later. A gathering can be arranged independently at a home, place of worship, community venue, restaurant, or another appropriate location. Separating disposition from the memorial allows the family to control the gathering’s timing, setting, and cost.
A memorial package purchased from a funeral home may add:
- Use of a chapel or reception room
- Funeral-director and staff time
- Ceremony coordination
- Printed programs or memorial folders
- Flowers or display materials
- Video or photographic tributes
- An obituary or online memorial
- Catering or reception support
- Transportation or ceremonial vehicles
Commercial Ohio estimates place cremation with a memorial around $2,000 to $4,000, while an Ohio provider article says memorial-service or visitation arrangements may cost $4,000 or more. A broad commercial estimate places full-service cremation at $5,000 to $8,000 or more. These are not standardized packages, so their boundaries can overlap.
| Arrangement | Body present at ceremony? | Common components | Why the price may rise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Direct cremation | Usually no public ceremony before cremation | Basic professional services, authorizations, basic care, cremation, and a basic return container | Mileage, added refrigeration, filing costs, handling, delivery, or merchandise |
| Direct cremation plus a family-arranged memorial | Usually no | Direct cremation plus an independently organized gathering | Venue, food, celebrant, flowers, printing, audio, or video |
| Funeral-home memorial package | Usually no, although definitions vary | Direct cremation plus funeral-home facilities and staff | Facility time, coordination, printed materials, and merchandise |
| Viewing or visitation before cremation | Yes | Body care, viewing room, staff, identification or visitation, and an appropriate container | Preparation, cosmetics, casket rental, facility time, or extra transportation |
| Full-service cremation | Often yes | Viewing or visitation, formal funeral, staff, facilities, vehicles, preparation, and cremation | Multiple events, additional staffing, merchandise, and third-party expenses |
A third-party article also reports $6,713 for cremation with services in Ohio, attributing the amount to a 2023 National Funeral Directors Association study. That figure covers a different service level from direct cremation and should not be compared with a $725 or $795 direct-cremation offer as though the purchases were equivalent.
Viewing and funeral arrangements can add embalming or other selected body preparation, dressing and cosmetics, facility use, staff, transportation, rental or cremation caskets, vehicles, printed materials, and memorial merchandise.
Science Care, a commercial body-donation organization, gives non-Ohio-specific estimates of $2,500 to $4,000 for cremation with a memorial service and $5,000 or more for cremation with a traditional service. These figures illustrate the effect of ceremony choices but are not Ohio market averages (Science Care’s service-level overview).
The practical distinction is not simply “cremation versus funeral.” It is:
- Disposition only
- Disposition plus a memorial without the body present
- Viewing or visitation before disposition
- A traditional funeral structure followed by cremation
Choose the intended service level first. Only then can providers be compared meaningfully.
What a direct-cremation price usually includes
A direct-cremation package may combine several operational services into one charge:
- Transfer of the deceased into the provider’s care
- Basic services of the funeral director and staff
- Arrangement consultation
- Necessary authorizations and administrative work
- Refrigeration or other basic care for a stated period
- Transportation to the crematory
- A basic cremation or alternative container
- The cremation itself
- Processing and return of the cremated remains
- A temporary container or basic urn
No component should be assumed to be universal. One provider may include local removal and administrative work but charge for refrigeration after a specified period. Another may include refrigeration and a basic container while listing transportation or document filing separately.
The return container is particularly easy to misunderstand. Some providers supply a temporary cardboard container rather than a decorative urn. Others include a basic urn. Ask separately about the container used for cremation and the container in which the remains will be returned.
Provider examples show how packages differ:
- Shaw-Davis in Columbus says its direct-cremation charge includes removal, necessary authorizations, staff and overhead, transportation to its on-site crematory, and cremation. Container choice and case-specific circumstances can change the price (Shaw-Davis General Price List).
- Lakeside Simple Cremation’s 2022 article described a package containing transfer, refrigeration, the crematory fee, a basic cremation container, and a basic urn. Its publication date makes this a historical package description, not confirmation of current pricing (Lakeside’s 2022 package description).
- Blessing Cremation Center lists professional services, consultation, refrigeration and care, a required cremation container, cremation, and return in a basic container within its starting package. Transportation and legal-document filing appear among potentially optional services, so the advertised rate cannot be assumed to be complete (Blessing’s direct-cremation pricing page).
It helps to sort every line item into one of three categories.
Base package services are the provider’s bundled professional and operational services. Depending on the written terms, these may include staff, basic care, cremation, transportation, and specified containers.
Optional merchandise and services are choices such as an upgraded urn, keepsake, expedited cremation, viewing, delivery, obituary, or memorial package.
Third-party or cash-advance expenses are amounts paid to another organization on the family’s behalf. Depending on the arrangement, examples may include certified copies, newspaper notices, clergy honoraria, flowers, or cemetery costs.
For a fuller explanation of how professional fees, transportation, merchandise, and outside expenses fit together, see this guide to funeral-home pricing and package components.
Use this checklist before accepting a direct-cremation price:
- [ ] Is removal from the place of death included?
- [ ] Which removal locations qualify?
- [ ] How many miles are included?
- [ ] What is the excess-mileage rate?
- [ ] Is refrigeration included, and for how long?
- [ ] Are necessary authorizations and administrative services included?
- [ ] Are permit or filing charges included or separate?
- [ ] Is transportation to the crematory included?
- [ ] Is the crematory charge included?
- [ ] Is a cremation or alternative container included?
- [ ] Will the remains be returned in a temporary container or an urn?
- [ ] Is family pickup included?
- [ ] Does delivery or mailing cost extra?
- [ ] Are certified death certificates separate?
- [ ] Are card or financing charges added?
A package is not necessarily poor value because it excludes an item. The important question is whether the exclusion is clearly disclosed and included in your comparison.
Dated price examples from Columbus and Northeast Ohio
Local prices are more useful than a statewide average when they are current, publicly available, and matched to the family’s circumstances. Each example still needs a service definition, date, and eligibility note.
| Provider or source | Public price or range | Place and date | Classification | Main limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shaw-Davis | $795 with purchaser-provided container; $895 with alternative container; $995 with cremation casket | Columbus; effective July 1, 2025 | Provider General Price List | Other applicable charges can increase the total; prices may change |
| Blessing Cremation Center | Starting at $725 | Cleveland and Northeast Ohio; undated page accessed August 20, 2026 | Advertised starting price | No effective date shown; optional-service prices and detailed geographic limits are not published |
| Cleveland Memorial Society survey | $725–$4,373 | Northeast Ohio; 2023 survey data | Regional General Price List survey | Not statewide; urn and cemetery charges excluded; survey was updated as lists arrived |
| Cleveland Memorial Society contract | $845 | Northeast Ohio; displayed with 2023 survey information | Member-only contracted rate | Not a general-public benchmark |
| Lakeside Simple Cremation | $1,295 | Cleveland area; article published August 27, 2022 | Historical provider package | Current price and availability are unconfirmed |
Columbus: Shaw-Davis
Shaw-Davis listed direct cremation at $795 when the purchaser provides the container, $895 with an alternative container, and $995 with a cremation casket, effective July 1, 2025. Its General Price List says prices are subject to change without notice.
These amounts show what one Columbus provider published for defined options. They do not establish what direct cremation normally costs throughout Columbus or Ohio.
Cleveland and Northeast Ohio: Blessing
Blessing Cremation Center’s undated page advertised direct cremation starting at $725 when accessed August 20, 2026. The displayed package included refrigeration, a required cremation container, cremation, and return in a basic container, but transportation and filing legal documents appeared among its optional services.
Because prices for those possible additions and detailed geographic limits were not displayed, the page could not establish an out-the-door total. Families should confirm whether the offer remains available and request current written terms.
Blessing’s price-match promotion also depended on a lower published price for comparable services from a licensed Northeast Ohio provider and required documentation. A conditional price match is not equivalent to an unrestricted statewide rate.
Northeast Ohio survey evidence
The Cleveland Memorial Society says it requested General Price Lists from 40 to 60 Northeast Ohio funeral homes in each of several survey years. Its 2023 data showed direct cremation ranging from $725 to $4,373. The society’s displayed $845 rate was a member-only contracted price, and the survey excluded urn and cemetery charges (Cleveland Memorial Society survey overview).
The survey does not supply a current Ohio average. Its principal value is showing how widely listed prices can vary within one region before merchandise and cemetery choices are considered.
Historical Cleveland-area example
Lakeside Simple Cremation published a $1,295 package on August 27, 2022, describing transfer, refrigeration, cremation, a basic container, and a basic urn as package components.
That example helps illustrate how a bundled package was structured. It does not establish a price available in 2026.
These local prices can coexist with a commercial statewide benchmark near $2,050 because they may measure different things:
- One provider versus a broad dataset
- A starting rate versus an average listed price
- Public prices versus member contracts
- Northeast Ohio or Columbus versus the entire state
- Local removal versus transportation charged separately
- Different container, refrigeration, and paperwork inclusions
- Prices collected in different years
- Listed prices rather than final paid totals
The evidence does not support declaring one Ohio city categorically cheaper than another. A valid city comparison would require current, normalized quotes for the same services and circumstances.
Extra charges that can change the final bill
Not every possible charge applies to every arrangement. Some providers include items that others list separately, and a clearly disclosed optional charge is not a hidden fee. The task is to determine which charges apply and whether the estimate includes them.
Transportation and timing
Possible transportation or timing charges include:
- Removal from a residence, nursing facility, hospital, or other location
- Excess mileage outside an included radius
- Transfer between a funeral home and an off-site crematory
-
After-hours, weekend, or holiday removal
-
Expedited cremation or accelerated return
- Delivery or mailing of the cremated remains
Ask the provider to define the included service area by mileage or counties. “Local removal included” may not be specific enough.
Paperwork and certificates
Possible administrative expenses include:
- Permit or filing charges
- Certified copies of the death certificate
-
Obituary placement
-
Fees advanced to a government office or another organization
Do not assume that “paperwork included” covers every outside charge. It may mean staff time is included while certificate or filing expenses remain separate.
Body care and handling
Circumstances that may affect care and handling charges include:
- Refrigeration beyond the included period
- Identification or private family viewing
- Embalming or other preparation selected for a viewing
- Cosmetic preparation or dressing
- Additional personnel or equipment
- Weight-related handling
Do not add special handling to a personal budget unless the provider confirms that it applies to the case.
Merchandise
Merchandise may include:
- Alternative or cremation container
- Cremation casket
- Rental casket for a viewing
- Decorative urn
- Keepsake urns or jewelry
- Urn vault
- Printed memorial materials
- Register books, prayer cards, or video tributes
If a decorative urn is not needed immediately, ask whether the included temporary container will meet the family’s short-term plans. Confirm exactly what the provider supplies.
Return of the remains
- Local delivery
- Courier service
- Mailing
- Shipping supplies
- Expedited return
- Dividing remains among multiple containers
If relatives live outside Ohio, ask about available methods, timing, documentation, and the complete charge before choosing a provider.
Payment charges
The payment method may also affect the total. Ask about:
- Credit-card processing fees
- Financing charges
- Deposit requirements
- Payment deadlines
- Refund or cancellation provisions
- Charges for purchasing cash-advance items
For a provider-specific example, Shaw-Davis’s July 2025 price list showed $275 in additional charges for individuals weighing 275 to 450 pounds and $400 at 450 pounds or more; $200 for expedited cremation; $95 for delivery within Franklin County; mailing from $200; and a 3% credit-card fee. These were one provider’s published charges, not statewide Ohio fees (Shaw-Davis General Price List).
A commercial article dated July 30, 2026 gives illustrative add-on estimates of $25 to $50 per death certificate, $100 to $500 for an upgraded urn, $50 to $200 for remains delivery, $100 to $300 for witness cremation, and $500 to $2,000 or more for memorial services. These are commercial estimates rather than official Ohio schedules, so a provider’s written quote should take priority.
Cemetery expenses belong in the budget only when the family chooses cemetery disposition of the ashes. Burial, entombment, or niche placement may involve property, opening and closing, vault, marker, or placement charges. For context on how disposition choices affect the overall arrangement, see this practical comparison of cremation and burial.
From starting price to likely out-of-pocket cost
The safest way to turn an advertisement into a working budget is to keep three figures separate.
1. Advertised starting price
This is the number used to introduce the service. It may be accurate for a qualifying arrangement but depend on:
- Location of death
- Included mileage
- Body weight or handling needs
- Timing
- Container choice
- Payment method
- Family pickup
- Membership or price-match eligibility
2. Normalized package price
This is the price after adding the core services required in the family’s circumstances. It should cover the same components across every provider being compared.
If one provider includes local removal, refrigeration, document filing, a container, and family pickup, ask competing providers to price those same components. Do not compare that package with a bare crematory charge or member-only rate.
3. Final estimated amount
This figure adds applicable certificates, mileage, handling, delivery, merchandise, payment charges, and third-party expenses. It should be based on the facts of the case—not every possible charge on the provider’s list.
The following scenarios demonstrate the method without presenting invented statewide totals.
Scenario A: Basic local arrangement with no identified additions
Shaw-Davis listed a $795 direct-cremation option with a purchaser-provided container, effective July 1, 2025. If the family qualified for that option and no additional charge applied, $795 would be the provider-specific starting point.
The family would still need a written estimate addressing the removal location, mileage, certificates, handling, payment method, and return of remains.
Scenario B: The same package with a published optional charge
If the same Shaw-Davis arrangement required the provider’s published $200 expedited-cremation charge, the arithmetic would be:
$795 base option + $200 expedited service = $995
This is not a typical Ohio total. It is a limited illustration based on one provider’s price list effective July 1, 2025. Other applicable charges could still change the bill.
If a percentage card fee also applied, the family should ask what amount the percentage would be calculated against rather than estimating it independently.
Scenario C: A starting price that cannot yet be completed
Blessing’s advertised $725 starting price cannot be converted reliably into an out-the-door total from its public page. Transportation and filing legal documents appear among potentially optional services, but the page does not publish their prices, detailed geographic limits, or an effective date.
The appropriate next step is to request a written estimate based on:
- Exact place of death
- Included service area and mileage
- Refrigeration
- Necessary filing and authorizations
- Cremation container
- Cremation
- Number of certified copies
- Pickup, delivery, or mailing
- Any case-specific handling
Scenario D: Cremation plus a ceremony
A family may select direct cremation and add a memorial gathering. The total will depend on whether the gathering is:
- Organized privately
- Held at a place of worship
- Hosted at a rented venue
- Purchased as a funeral-home package
- Combined with a viewing before cremation
A private gathering may involve only the family’s selected venue, food, printing, or celebrant. A funeral-home memorial or viewing may add professional staff, facilities, body preparation, transportation, and merchandise.
Certificates, mileage, filing expenses, refrigeration, handling, merchandise, and return arrangements can all prevent a low advertised price from becoming the final bill. Create a personal budget only after the provider identifies which charges are required or applicable.
How to compare Ohio cremation quotes fairly
Obtain General Price Lists and written, itemized estimates from at least three providers when time and circumstances allow. Record the effective date of every list because webpages, brochures, and downloaded documents may remain available after prices change.
Use this worksheet to normalize the quotes:
| Component | Provider 1 | Provider 2 | Provider 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price-list effective date | |||
| Direct-cremation base price | |||
| Removal location covered | |||
| Included mileage or service area | |||
| Excess-mileage rate | |||
| After-hours removal | |||
| Refrigeration included and duration | |||
| Additional refrigeration rate | |||
| Authorizations and administrative work | |||
| Permits and filing charges | |||
| Transportation to crematory | |||
| Crematory fee | |||
| Alternative or cremation container | |||
| Temporary return container | |||
| Decorative urn | |||
| Certified death certificates | |||
| Family pickup | |||
| Delivery or mailing | |||
| Weight or special-handling charge | |||
| Expedited service | |||
| Card or payment fee | |||
| Other cash-advance expenses | |||
| Written estimated total | |||
| Estimate valid until |
Use this call or email script:
“Please send your General Price List and an itemized out-the-door estimate including removal, mileage, refrigeration, authorizations, permits, container, cremation, certified death certificates, and return of the remains.”
Then ask:
- Do you operate your own crematory?
- If not, which crematory do you use?
- Is removal or transportation subcontracted?
- What counties or mileage radius does the quoted price include?
- How is excess mileage calculated?
- How much refrigeration is included?
- Are staff filing services and outside filing charges both included?
- What container is provided for cremation?
- What container is used to return the remains?
- Is family pickup included?
- What would delivery or mailing cost?
- Are there charges related to timing, weight, location, or additional personnel?
- Is the promoted price restricted by geography?
- Does it require membership?
- Is it a price-match rate, and what documentation is required?
- Which costs are paid to third parties?
- How long is the written estimate valid?
- Under what circumstances could the amount change?
The lowest base price is not necessarily the lowest comparable total. A $725 starting price plus transportation, filing, and delivery could cost more than a higher package that includes those components. It could also cost less; the advertisement alone does not answer the question.
Keep legal and procedural questions equally specific. Ask the provider which current authorizations, timing requirements, permits, and container rules apply. If an answer has significant legal or financial consequences, confirm it with a licensed funeral director, appropriate Ohio authority, attorney, or other qualified professional rather than relying on an undated commercial summary.
Ways to control costs without assuming every low-price option applies
The most effective cost decision is usually selecting the appropriate service level before choosing merchandise.
Separate cremation from the memorial
Direct cremation followed by a separately arranged memorial can avoid funeral-home charges for viewing, preparation, facility use, ceremonial staffing, and vehicles. It also allows more time for travel and planning.
This approach is not right for every family. A viewing, religious rite, or funeral with the body present may be an important preference. Cost control should preserve the elements that matter rather than automatically eliminate them.
Use the provided temporary container when appropriate
If a decorative urn is not needed immediately, ask whether the included temporary container is appropriate for the family’s immediate plans. An urn can be selected later, when the family is not making every decision under time pressure.
Confirm exactly what the provider supplies. “Basic container” may refer to the container used during cremation, the return container, or both.
Decline unnecessary convenience services
Potentially avoidable choices may include:
- Expedited cremation
- Local delivery when pickup is practical
- Mailing when a family member can collect the remains
- Upgraded urns and keepsakes
- Printed memorial products
- Funeral-home facility use
- Additional vehicles
- Video or tribute packages
Do not decline a service until you understand its purpose. Additional refrigeration, for example, may result from timing or case circumstances rather than personal preference.
Compare complete prices, not advertisements
A provider with a higher base rate may include more. A low starting rate may still produce the lowest total, but that conclusion should follow an itemized comparison.
Pay particular attention to transportation. A distant provider may cease to be economical if the place of death is outside its included service area or multiple transfers are necessary.
Treat whole-body donation as conditional, not guaranteed
A whole-body donation program may cover donation-related transportation and cremation for an accepted participant. Acceptance is program-specific and time-sensitive; registration or prior interest does not guarantee acceptance when death occurs.
Science Care, for example, says it covers cremation and transportation for accepted donors, but it also identifies timing, screening, geographic, and eligibility limitations. Ohio appearing in an inquiry form does not establish identical availability or terms throughout the state. Families considering donation should verify current eligibility directly and maintain a backup disposition plan.
A practical decision sequence is:
- Choose the intended service level: direct cremation, memorial, viewing, or full service.
- Identify nonnegotiable preferences: religious rites, viewing, timing, location, urn, or family participation.
- Collect three dated, itemized quotes covering the same components.
- Compare final estimated totals, not only advertised starting prices.
- Verify current terms before authorization, including the service area and case-specific additions.
Frequently asked questions
What is the average cost of direct cremation in Ohio?
Two commercial sources published in 2026 report Ohio averages close to $2,050—one at $2,057 and another at $2,045—but neither discloses enough methodology to make the figure definitive.
Treat approximately $2,050 as a rough commercial benchmark, not an expected invoice. For preliminary planning, about $1,000 to $3,000 is a more cautious range, while individual reported and advertised prices extend below and above it. A local itemized quote is more useful because it can account for removal, mileage, refrigeration, paperwork, handling, container choice, and return of the remains.
What is normally included in an Ohio direct-cremation package?
A package may include transfer into the provider’s care, basic professional services, authorizations or administrative work, refrigeration or basic care, transportation to the crematory, cremation, and return of the remains in a temporary container.
Exact inclusions vary. Ask specifically whether removal, mileage, refrigeration, permits, crematory charges, a cremation container, a return container, and family pickup are included. Do not interpret “complete cremation” as proof that certificates, delivery, outside filing charges, or merchandise are covered.
Is an urn included in the cremation price?
Not always. Some providers include a basic urn, while others return the remains in a temporary or basic container. A decorative urn is frequently optional.
Ask two separate questions: “What container is used during cremation?” and “What container will hold the remains when they are returned?” This avoids confusion between the cremation container and the container received by the family.
Why can one Ohio provider advertise $725 while statewide estimates are near $2,050?
The figures may measure different providers, regions, packages, years, and kinds of prices. The $725 amount is an undated Northeast Ohio provider’s advertised starting price. The statewide estimates come from commercial datasets that may include higher-priced providers without clearly normalizing package inclusions.
Transportation, filing, mileage, refrigeration, containers, handling, and return arrangements may also differ. A low local starting price and a higher statewide estimate can both be reported accurately without being directly comparable.
Which questions should I ask before accepting a cremation quote?
Ask for a General Price List and a written out-the-door estimate. Confirm:
- The price-list effective date
- Included removal area and mileage
- Excess-mileage charges
- Refrigeration and time limits
- Required authorizations, permits, and filing charges
- Transportation to the crematory
- Crematory fee
- Cremation and return containers
- Death-certificate costs
- Family pickup, delivery, or mailing
- After-hours, expedited, weight, or special-handling charges
- Card or payment fees
- Membership, geographic, or price-match conditions
- Third-party expenses
- How long the estimate remains valid
Also ask whether the provider operates its own crematory and whether transportation is subcontracted. Confirm current legal and case-specific requirements with a licensed funeral director or appropriate Ohio authority before authorizing arrangements.
An Ohio family may encounter a direct-cremation advertisement below $1,000, use about $1,000 to $3,000 as an initial planning range, or receive a substantially higher quote because of location, transportation, package inclusions, handling needs, or selected services. The safest budget comes from choosing the service level first and then comparing three dated, written, itemized estimates covering the same components.